Happy Friday. What are you listening to?

ipod-classic-accessories-3Haven’t posted one of these in awhile, so here’s what I’ve been listening to in shuffle mode today as I get ready for a couple of days off. Enjoy, and hope everyone has a great weekend.

As of the time of this posting, here are the last 15 to come up in the rotation.

1. Alert Status Red–Matthew Good

2. Shine a Light–The Rolling Stones

3. That Lady (Parts 1 & 2)–The Isley Brothers

4. Afternoon-Pat Metheny Group

5. Perfect Stranger–Cheap Trick

6. Open All Night-Bruce Springsteen

7. You Really Got Me–The Kinks (One From The Road version)

8. Two of Us–The Beatles

9. Spy In The House of Love–Was (Not Was)

10. Bitch–The Rolling Stones

11. You Got Lucky–Tom Petty

12. Spar Wid Me–The English Beat

13. Shakin’ Shakin’ Shakes–Los Lobos

14. V-2 Schneider–David Bowie

15. What Makes You Think You’re The One–Fleetwood Mac


Listen to the new Fleetwood Mac “Extended Play” EP

fleewtoodFrom fleetwoodmac.com:

Fleetwood Mac, currently on a hugely successful 48 city concert tour of North America, have confirmed that they are releasing an EP of new material today titled Extended Play exclusively on iTunes.

Extended Play includes three new songs “Sad Angel,” “It Takes Time” and “Miss Fantasy” written by Lindsey Buckingham and produced by Lindsey Buckingham and Mitchell Froom. A forth cut, “Without You” was written by Stevie Nicks and co produced by Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham. “Without You” was a lost song from the Buckingham/Nicks days which had been missing and happily rediscovered when someone posted an early demo of it on YouTube. Extended Play is the first recording of new Mac music since the release of Say You Will over a decade ago.

The EP has already been posted to YouTube. I like “Sad Angel” the best. Have a listen before it gets taken down:

Happy (Long Weekend) Sunday. Here’s my playlist for this morning. #whatareyoulisteningto

coffeeAnd because it’s a long weekend…a longer playlist.

1. Hypnotized–Fleetwood Mac

2. Blaze of Glory–Joe Jackson

3. Water of Love–Dire Straits

4. Contact High–Allen Stone

5. I May Not Be Your Kind–Garland Jeffreys

6. Laughing Down Crying–Daryl Hall

7. Minute By Minute–The Doobie Brothers

8. Call Me The Breeze–J.J. Cale

9. Hard To Thrill–J.J. Cale & Eric Clapton

10. Say You Will–Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals

11. How Did We Get From Saying I Love You–Great Big Sea

12. Stolen Moments–John Hiatt

13. Up On This Hillside–Bruce Cockburn

14. New Frontier–Donald Fagen

15. Everything Is Broken–Bettye LaVette


Are you a Fleetwood Mac fan? This one’s for you #Fleetwood Mac

FleetwoodMac_5CD_1LP_#4C00CNext Tuesday, January 29th will see the release of expanded and deluxe versions of Fleetwood Mac’s classic Rumours album that will feature unreleased studio and live recordings.  Rolling Stone magazine is giving fans a chance to have a sneak listen to the live tracks that will be included with the set. These tracks were recorded during the group’s 1977 U.S. tour and include such familiar hits as “Dreams”, “Rhiannon” and “Go Your Own Way”.

You can listen to the live tracks here.

(Trivia alert: Rumours is one of the biggest-selling albums of all-time–over 19 million copies since its release.)

The classic line-up (minus Christine McVie who has retired) will be hitting the road in April with stops in Toronto (April 16th), Ottawa (April 23rd), Winnipeg (May 12th), Saskatoon (May 14th), Edmonton (May 15th), Calgary (May 17th), Vancouver (May 19th) and Montreal (June 18th).

I saw Fleetwood Mac on their last tour in 2009. Fantastic show. Here’s a fan-filmed clip from that show to give you a taste:

Are the Rumours true?

The Eagles’ Their Greatest Hits (1971-1975) and Fleetwood Mac’s Rumours have sold in the neighbourhood of 48 million copies combined since their release in 1975 and 1977 respectively. That’s an astonishing number by anybody’s standards. Add 1976′ Hotel California to the mix, and the number climbs to 64 million. Toss in 1982’s Eagles Greatest Hits Volume II, and the number climbs to 79 million. And just for fun, let’s add 1988’s Fleetwood Mac’s Greatest Hits and The Eagles’ 1994 release Hell Freezes Over and you’re at 95 million for six albums. I could add more but you get the point.

Now that we’ve got the math out of the way, here’s the big (ahem) “rumour”: both bands may tour together next summer. Not sure if this would be just a “who opens for who” kind of thing or more of the Elton John/Billy Joel Face To Face tour which featured each artist sharing the stage and performing each other’s songs. Reps from both the Mac and Eagles camps have apparently been meeting with promoters to see if there’s interest. The tour would likely hit both stadiums and arenas in various markets. Too early to tell if if they’ll come north of the border but a tour of this scale would likely hit Toronto and Vancouver at a minimum but that’s just my guess.

If this tour does come to fruition, it’s likely only going to be affordable to those with a lot of disposable income. Based on the ticket pricing history for The Eagles at least I wouldn’t be surprised if the top-tier tix will be at the $300 level. While I have always considered myself a fan of The Eagles’ music, I don’t have much of a desire to see them live. Not much there in terms of onstage personality, if you know what I mean. Fleetwood Mac on the other hand put on an amazing show when I saw them earlier this year and frankly I think the musicianship of Lindsey Buckingham is worth the price of admission alone.

If any news develops on this front I’ll be sure to post it here. In the meantime, check out the clips below. (The performance of Go Your Own Way when I saw them was outstanding.) Also, if you’re a Mac fan, check out this great documentary that aired on the BBC short time ago. A great look inside the inner workings of the band. For those who don’t know the sordid history, you’re in for a treat. You can watch Part 1 here and then follow the links to see the rest.