After the skies opened up over Toronto, a list of rain songs

4ACCA9466B5FADE7EB327FF90542D_h242_w430_m2_q80_ctDCgLRYvSo after yesterday’s record-setting downpour in Toronto, I went though my iPod (but not before I dealt with my basement and roof; you don’t want to know) to see what rain songs I have on there. Turns out quite a few–53. I provided links to a few of what might be some of the lesser well-known tracks. If you need links to..oh, I don’t know… Nos. 9, 11, 12, 26 to name just a few…that’s not good; you should know those. Seriously.  And I know I’m probably missing some tracks you think I should have (I know I need Eric Clapton’s “Let It Rain”) All in good time. In the meanwhile, the list:

1. After The Rain–Blue Rodeo

2. After The Rain Has Fallen–Sting

3. Another Rainy Day In New York City–Chicago

4. Buckets of Rain–Bob Dylan

5. Come Rain or Come Shine–Ray Charles

6. Early Morning Rain–Gordon Lightfoot

7. Fall Like Rain–Eric Clapton

8. Feels Like Rain–John Hiatt

9. Fire and Rain–James Taylor

10. Fool In The Rain–Led Zeppelin

11. A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall–Bob Dylan

12. Have You Ever Seen The Rain–Creedence Clearwater Revival

13. Heavy Cloud No Rain–Sting

14. Heavy Rain–Hall & Oates

15. I Can’t Stand The Rain–Ann Peebles

16. I Love The Rain–Lenny Kravitz

17. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today–Joe Cocker

18. In  The Rain–The Dramatics

19. It Keeps Rainin’–Robert Plant with Lil’ Band O’ Gold

20. Let The Rain Come Down–Toni Childs

21. Louisiana Rain–Tom Petty

22. Mandolin Rain–Bruce Hornsby

23. Out of The Rain–Joe Cocker

24. A Place In The Rain–Joe Jackson

25. Praying For The Rain–Junkhouse

26. Purple Rain–Prince

27. Rain–The Beatles

28. The Rain Came Down–Steve Earle

29. Rain Dance–The Guess Who

30. Rain Down On Me–Blue Rodeo

31. Rain Fall Down–The Rolling Stones

32. Rain Is Falling–Electric Light Orchestra

33. Rain On The Scarecrow–John Mellencamp

34. The Rain Song–Led Zeppelin

35. Rainin’ In My Heart–Al Green

36. Rainin’ In My Heart–Slim Harpo

37. Rainy Day People–Gordon Lightfoot

38. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35–Bob Dylan

39. Rainy Night In Georgia–Brook Benton

40. Red Rain–Peter Gabriel

41. Right As Rain–Adele

42. San Antonio Rain–Alejandro Escovedo

43. Set Fire To The Rain–Adele

44. Shadows In The Rain–The Police (and a version by Sting)

45. Shelling Rain–Alejandro Escovedo

46. So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)–R.E.M.

47. Standing In The Rain–Al Green

48. Surrender The Rain–Lindsey Buckingham

49. Too Much Rain–Paul McCartney

50. Walk Between The Raindrops–Donald Fagen

51. Walking In the Rain–Flash & The Pan

52. Who’ll Stop The Rain–Creedence Clearwater Revival

53. Wicked Rain–Los Lobos

2 thoughts on “After the skies opened up over Toronto, a list of rain songs

    • Excellent choice. Although (and some may consider this to be akin to blasphemy) I was never much of a Doors fan.

      On Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 12:43 PM, Side Two: Random Musings on the Music Th

Leave a Reply

